SECOND LIVES BY ANISH SARKAR 


~Synopsis~ 

Three old friends – Sara, Neel and Omar – reunite in Goa after the sudden death of Rachel Fernandes, a member of their group. Discovering that Rachel, a sports journalist, had been doing a story on the brutal killing of a foriegn tourist, they are puzzled by her interest in such a grisly crime. It emerges that Rachel’s investigation went far beyond a single murder, and their lives are soon under threat too.

With a Traumatic event from their teenage years coming back to haunt them, the trio realises that the mystery has its roots in their own past. In the midst of battling their personal demons, they make a desperate plan to flush out a sadistic killer in the sylvan setting of their old boarding school in the Himalayan foothills. With the body count rising and long-buried secrets tumbling out, will they succeed? 

~My Review~ 

Honestly, I didn’t know anything about this book and when I read the blurb, I did not expect it to be thaaat good! 

I enjoyed it so much! It has everything to make it a bestseller (yes!). It’s told from multiple perspectives, i.e. Sarah, Omar and neel. It is a very quick read, since chapters are very small and end at a cliffhanger. A backstory is also going on, which fits perfectly with the present story and keeps up with the pace. 

Literally so many things are going on at the same time, still everything is easily understandable, where I just want to know exactly what is happening or going to happen next. Plus it’s set in Goa (need I say more?) 

The main climax though. I will not say anything BUT. THE. CLIMAX. 

Wow. 

This book is amazing and I highly, highly recommend it. Please you will miss out on something AWESOME. 

I think this is the best crime thriller I have ever read by an Indian author. There. I said it. Please check it out! 

So my rating is (which is quite obvious I guess) 5/5 stars. 

Thankyou so much Westland Publishers for providing me with a copy to give an honest opinion about the book. 

9 thoughts on “SECOND LIVES BY ANISH SARKAR 

  1. And, I didn’t choose this book when Westland asked ( I chose Everyone Has A Love Story), bolo…

    Nice review! Will order a copy for sure! I have recently developed an interest in psychological thrillers. Is there any difference between psychological thrillers and crime thrillers? I wonder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And about the difference, I guess in psychological thrillers, there is a hint of emotional or mental instability in the main culprit. I can be wrong but that’s what I think

      Like

Leave a Reply

