On reading Harry Potter for the first time 

I am 20 years old and I just started reading Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling 2 months ago.  

Once I started with the first book,  many people were asking me why am I  even reading the books. They said I could just watch the movies and perhaps it’s a children’s book.  I didn’t really give them an explanation though.  I have been waiting to read this series all my life and I will read them no Matter what.

I don’t know the whole story but I have seen the first 4 movies and I do know about some climax scenes,  But I don’t care at all about this and won’t let this come in my way of reading the one series I have been dreaming of since I was a kid.  
But I made it clear that I’ll buy the first editions of the books and only then,  I will start it. Fortunately, I was able to get my hands on the first edition and at last I started reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone on July 5th,  2016. 

I have read the first two books till  now and honestly,   it was a whole another experience for me.  

I know this might sound silly,  but I used to think about how the books may turn out to be,  or how I’ll feel about it or how I will share about my experience but I have to say,  it’s different.  

When I was reading the first book I felt a bit homely? Like I was reading this  book for the first time,  still all this felt so familiar,  the characters, this world,  everything about this book made me feel like home (well obviously not because I had seen the movie but you get it). 

I felt so bad in the beginning and hated The Dursleys, loved when Hagrid comes for Harry and got goosebumps when he said,  “yer a wizard,  Harry”,  “I’m a what?”.  (absolutely loved that scene!). There is something about the writing. It’s so inviting and simple and addictive.  

I read the second book after two months and completed it in a day and now I’m craving for the third book!   But I will wait at least for a month because honestly I don’t want the series to end that quickly.  

I equally loved the second book and what can I say? I’m so happy I finally started reading this series.  :”) 

So I want to say one thing,  it’s definitely not just a children’s book.  It’s so much more.  There’s friendship,  hardwork,  secrets,  and most of all it feels so original that you have to read it atleast once in your life.  

I would really love to share my whole experience while reading the series here,  and hopefully I will.  But this is not a review of Harry Potter or anything like that.  This is just a simple hearty note from a fan who just waited a little longer to experience the magic.  

2 thoughts on “On reading Harry Potter for the first time 

Leave a Reply

