X by Sue Grafton | Book Review 

Title : X 
Author : Sue Grafton 

Pages: 492

Publisher: Pan Macmillan 

Published on: August 11, 2016

Genre: Crime and Mystery 


“In hindsight, I marvel how clueless I was

.. What I ask myself even now is whether I should have picked up the truth any faster than I did.,  which was not nearly fast enough.” 


~Synopsis ~

A glamorous red head wants to locate the son she put up for adoption thirty two years ago –  an easy two hundred bucks for people. I. Kinsey Millione. But when kinsey finds she was paid with market bills,  and her client is nowhere to be found,  it becomes clear the mystery woman has something to hide. 

Meanwhile, in helping the window of an old friend,  the recently murdered P. I. Pete Wolinksy, with some paperwork,  Kinsey uncovers a link between the late investigator and an unhinged man with a history of running lives. 

As Kinsey investigates this sociopath further,  she soon becomes his next target.  Now Kinsey must prove her case against him,  before she becomes his next victim.  

~My thoughts ~

The story starts off with a prologue,  narrated in third person,  about a female named Teddy Xanakis and her problems with her husband Ari, and how this may include Kinsey Millhone.

Then the story changes to first person told from Kinsey’s perspective who is a private investigator.  Kinsey is given an assignment from a lady who wants to locate her son she had put up for adoption long back.  Along with this,  she is helping her colleague’s widow with putting together some files where she finds something offbeat.  We also read about her new neighbors and her landlord,  Henry’s attemp with water conservation in grave detail.  All this happening at once,  which I thought was put up in a very strategic and clean manner.  

The author has released 23 books before featuring Kinsey Millhone,  and I was a bit apprehensive at first since I didn’t know anything about the characters and had no background knowledge.  However,  this was resolved from the very first page,  we get to know about Kinsey and her life a little, with a great introduction to the story. 

But after 80 pages or so,  it looses it’s pace where Kinsey describes each and everything in detail and it got a bit hard for me to keep on reading, but the story line was so good that I had to know the conclusion.  

I personally liked the characters, especially Kinsey,  who is smart,  Witty,  sarcastic and curious. Her relationship with others is also well developed throughout the book.

The author ends the book quite abruptly which will make me pick up her next book.  The only problem I had with the book was how slow it got in between.  

If you’re the type of person who like to sit back and enjoy your crime thriller slowly and in detail,  then this may be the book for you.  

I gave it 3/5 stars. 

I was provided with a review copy by Pan Macmillan India to give an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.  

 

Leave a Reply

